Skip to main content

Understanding User Roles: OpenAsset DAM (and Shred)

This article outlines the different user license options for OpenAsset (OA) and the user roles for Shred, helping you understand what permissions and capabilities are available for each.

Written by CJ Teeter

OpenAsset (OA) User Licenses

OpenAsset's Digital Asset Management platform offers two license options—Basic and Full—to ensure everyone on your team has access to the tools appropriate for their job function. This flexibility allows you to expand usage across your firm to increase collaboration without paying for features that some team members may not use.

User Role Summaries

  • Basic License: This license includes the essential features most users need. It's ideal for team members who need to search for files, download assets, generate documents from templates, and share files. This role is a great fit for users in marketing who create documents or for senior leaders who occasionally need to access the firm's image library.

  • Full License: This license includes all features of a basic license. It is designed for "power users" who are responsible for uploading and tagging files, or for system administrators who manage users, permissions, and the overall OpenAsset system.

Feature Comparison Chart

Here is a detailed breakdown of the features available for each license type.

Feature Category

Feature

Basic License

Full License

Find & Select

Search and select Files, Projects, and Employees

☑

☑

Use and manage Albums

☑

☑

Use & Create

Download Files

☑

☑

Drag Files to InDesign and other applications

☑

☑

Generate documents from templates

☑

☑

Share & Distribute

Share Files internally

☑

☑

Share Files externally

☑

☑

Store & Organize

Upload and manage Files

☑

Create and manage Projects and Employees

☑

Tagging and metadata management

☑

Customize fields and taxonomies

☑

System Admin

Manage users, groups, and permissions

☑

Manage integrations

☑

Manage authentication and SSO

☑

Shred User Roles (Admin vs. User)

Shred simplifies its roles into two main types: User and Admin. There is also an "Owner," who is the first Admin on the account. The primary difference centers on workspace management and user permissions.

User Role Summaries

  • Owner: This is the "first" Admin user who initially sets up the Shred account. They are responsible for adding other users and can designate other team members as Admins.

  • Admin: This role has elevated privileges for managing the workspace. Admins can invite or remove team members and change other users' roles.

  • User: This is the default role for all new team members. Users can access and work within the Shred platform but cannot manage other users or system settings.

Feature Comparison Chart

Feature

User

Admin

Access and use the Shred platform

☑

☑

Set personal Light/Dark Mode preference

☑

☑

Access Team Management settings

☑

Invite new users to the workspace

☑

Remove users from the workspace

☑

Change another user's role (promote to Admin / demote to User)

☑

Did this answer your question?