Access Levels are a simple green, amber and red traffic light system that allows you to easily control the extent to which your users have access to your content.

Every file in your OpenAsset system will be assigned to a specific Access Level, and your decision on how to categorise these different levels is entirely up to you.

For example you may chose to categorise Green Access Level files as being the best approved marketing files, ones that you have copyright to use externally. Amber Access Level files may be files that are not the best quality or ones that don't have copyright (internal use only). And finally, Red Access Level files may require final approval from marketing before being available for company use.

In each case your system can be set up so that only certain groups of users are able to view files of a specific Access Level.

Set a Default Upload Access Level

You can set up your system with a default Access Level to ensure that all files uploaded are automatically set to that level. This option is particularly useful if the file requires final approval by an individual who is not the uploader, such as your System Administrator.

The easiest way to set this feature is to change the settings for your Categories. You can do this by navigating to 'System' > 'Categories' within your Settings.

Click the 'Edit' button next to the relevant category, then select your desired Access Level from the pop up window. Click Save to exit.

Note: Although this option will set the default Access Level, a user may still be able to change this level in the advanced options of the file uploader. Use the method below if you require more control over how your content is used.

Manage Your Access Levels

Access Levels allow you to more tightly control how content in your system is used. You can set the parameters surrounding which groups of users have access to what content by managing the group's Category Permission Settings.

You can use this option to set the default upload access level for a specific group. As opposed to the method above, this option allows you to completely limit the Access Level a specific group can upload to (no other option will be available in the uploader settings).

To configure these settings, navigate to 'Security' > 'Groups' within the Settings menu.

Select the 'Edit' icon next to the relevant Group.

Select the 'Category permissions' tab from the menu to the left of the page. You will then be displayed with a grid of options that control what this particular group has access to. You can configure whether groups can View, Upload, Edit and Delete files within each Category.

Once you have completed making your changes, select 'Save Changes' from the top of the page.

Did this answer your question?